Sekha Paṭipadā
— The path for one under training —
[sekha paṭipadā]

In the Dīgha Nikāya, the Majjhima Nikāya, as well as in a couple of suttas from the Aṅguttara Nikāya, we find a practical and gradual exposition of the way of practice to be undertaken by those who are intent on progressing on the noble path, paving all the way from the choice of renouncing the world to the attainment of arahantship. It is of fundamental importance for anyone wishing to progress successfully, because it contains the instructions that will enable the meditator to set up the indispensable conditions for an efficient practice. At MN 107, in accordance with the terminology introduced by a particular brahman, the Buddha alternatively calls it Anupubba Paṭipadā (Gradual Path), but when he has the choice of the terminology (as in MN 53) he opts for the expression Sekha Paṭipadā.

Formulae featured in the suttas containing the Sekha Paṭipadā:

As shown in the table, the Sekha Paṭipadā is expounded in two main sets of formulae. The difference among them is that in the first set, there is an attempt to summarize the rules of proper conduct (Ariya Sīlakkhandha), whereas in the second, this is replaced by a simple reference to the Pātimokkha (Sīlasampatti), while two formulae explaining how to eat (Bhojane Mattaññutā) and how to remain ever awaken (Jāgariyaṃ Anuyoga) slip in the list.

0. Pabbajjā (89%)
The going forth: how one decides to renounce the world.
1. Ariya Sīlakkhandha (85%)
Various rules to be followed by bhikkhus.
1 bis. Sīlasampatti (11%)
Accomplishment in virtue: a careful observance of the Pātimokkha rules.
2. Indriyesu Guttadvāratā (100%)
Guard at the entrance of sense faculties: sense restraint.
3. Bhojane Mattaññutā (15%)
Moderation in food: knowing the proper amount to eat.
4. Jāgariyaṃ Anuyoga (15%)
Devotion to wakefulness: day and night.
5. Satisampajañña (96%)
Mindfulness and thorough understanding: an uninterrupted practice.
6. Nīvaraṇānaṃ Pahāna (96%)
Removal of the hindrances: overcoming obstructing mental states.
7. Cattāro Jhānā (100%)
The four jhānas: having a pleasant abiding.
8. Pubbenivāsānussatiñāṇa (74%)
Knowledge of the recollection of former living places: remembering one's past lives.
9. Sattānaṃ Cutūpapātañāṇa (74%)
Knowledge of the rebirth of diceased beings.
10. Āsavānaṃ Khayañāṇa (78%)
Knowledge of the destruction of the āsavas: arahantship.

Bodhi leaf