SN 36.5 (S iv 207)
Daṭṭhabba Sutta
— To be seen as —

How the three types of vedanā (feelings) should be seen.

Note: info·bubbles on "underdotted" English words



Tisso imā, bhikkhave, vedanā. Katamā tisso? Sukhā vedanā, dukkhā vedanā, adukkham·asukhā vedanā. Sukhā, bhikkhave, vedanā dukkhato daṭṭhabbā, dukkhā vedanā sallato daṭṭhabbā, adukkham·asukhā vedanā aniccato daṭṭhabbā.

There are, bhikkhus, these three feelings: pleasant feeling, unpleasant feeling and neither-unpleasant-nor-pleasant feeling. Pleasant feelings are to be seen as unpleasant, unpleasant feelings are to be seen as a dart, and neither-unpleasant-nor-pleasant feelings are to be seen as impermanent.

Yato kho, bhikkhave, bhikkhuno sukhā vedanā dukkhato diṭṭhā hoti, dukkhā vedanā sallato diṭṭhā hoti, adukkham·asukhā vedanā aniccato diṭṭhā hoti, ayaṃ vuccati, bhikkhave, bhikkhu samma·d·daso acchecchi taṇhaṃ, vivattayi saṃyojanaṃ, sammā mān·ābhisamayā antam·akāsi dukkhassā ti.

If a bhikkhu, bhikkhus, has seen the pleasant feelings as unpleasant, has seen the unpleasant feelings as a dart, has seen the neither-unpleasant-nor-pleasant feelings as impermanent, he is called a bhikkhu correctly, having cut off craving, having severed the fetters, and through correct understanding of conceit, having made an end of suffering.

Bodhi leaf

Translation suggested by the webmaster,
with the support of Nyanaponika Thera's translation.

Published as a gift of Dhamma, to be distributed free of charge.
Any copies or derivatives of this work must cite their original source.